sky o’ mine


Every wobble of the rear tire

On a cobble

Sent a myriad of tingle

Through my derrier

As I glimpsed the flashing houses

He was there

My cheek against his sweater

And the warmth underneath

As on this Queen’s day

We set forth past the edge of town

Down a lane

To a grove

It was not true Queen’s day

For that was deep in winter

So instead was moved to Queen’s mother’s day

A beautiful first spring bloom

Branches angled and dangled toward us

Threatening but never catching our hair

We were too fast

And the sky caught my eye

As I laughed a resounding round

Toward the sun

And the beat of my heart

Became a palpable thing

Which laid out the course of my being

And I wept and I cried

For all I’d held inside

And I learned this was the one day

The last day

The only day of its kind

And so I set my heart to remind

I set my heart to remind

The twisting of toes in grass

The bumpy road

The half edible sandwiches

The sprinkled sunlight

The dozy edges of the universe

Which teased us from the edges

Knowing we would forget

We would deny that we had ever been these

Almost-adults-barely-children

We would hope and try

But never rewind

And so I set my heart to remind

I set my heart to remind

The budding pink on limbs

The damp of grass that stained

The heart’s errant grasp

That last clasp

The laugh like

falling rain

Again and again

And so I set my heart to remind

I set my heart to remind

Leave a Reply

