calm


It is quieter here this morning

With the windows shut

Not the eerie quiet

Of the afternoon

When one wonders

Where are the birds

My mind for once peaceful

I look upon a beautiful hill

And remember the volcano

I once called home

We are built through this turmoil

Shaking and rolling and boiling

So maybe this recent collapse

I should not dismay

I am also

Thick and strong and full of fury

This episode will not be my undoing

It is only this reminder

The ground is unstable

We control so few things

So few things

This turmoil not one of them

For that reason

More joy

A celebration for this blip on the screen

In the scheme of things

So this tea

My house our yours

Or shall we stand

On the divide

In between?

Leave a Reply

