calm and collected


I cannot remember when I’ve been more relaxed. I’m thinking back on my first trips to the Northwest as a child where I slept in quilted comfort and awoke to the sounds of nature. I’m thinking back to my first days as a ranger. I’m reminded of what home is.

To me, home has never been a particular “place.” It’s been a state of mind. Maybe that’s because I move so much for work. Maybe it’s because peace is so hard to come by these days.

Life has been just too…too…these days and I’m so grateful for this opportunity. I slept later than I thought I might this morning, but it was so blissful.
I finally took care of some things which had been weighing on me recently and I think now that I’ve gotten to a point where I can safely say my responsibilities have been alleviated.

The sky here is also blissfully dark at night. The places I lived here in the boonies still had streetlamps nearby so even with shades and curtains, I slept with a mask on my face. I love being wrapped in a blanket of sky for sleeping, although when I camp I find it hard to close my eyes.

I look to the stars and ask them to tell me nighttime stories. They nearly always do.

I am grateful. Today is a gift. Today things start to feel…more…human.

Leave a Reply

