growing


Thinking the answer was to leave it all behind

I shed layers of my soul

To prepare for new adventures

Yet what I uncovered was my old self

Full of thoughts dreams and schemes

Loving the world with a full heart

The same heart which beat in me

All along

But had come muddled with thoughts of others

A little guilt remains in my soul

Items I didn’t pick up while cleaning

Must return to get those

Leaving at the very last moment

But that was my gift to myself

To remind me that freedom is sometimes bought

The price may be high but the rewards many

As I soar through the skies

I look down where I was

And can barely see the shallow breathing me

Huddled beneath robes

Afraid to come into the world

Now I have given away my anxiety and my fear

This price

I am willing to pay.

Leave a Reply

