His name is John


Prompt here:

http://kellieelmore.com/2013/08/16/fwf-free-write-friday-image-prompt-10/

OK, so I’m down to writing at least once a week (working a LOT at this point, including weekends), but I still visit Kellie Elmore’s FWF when I can, write when I can, and read others when I can. I do think this helps me be a better human, if not a better writer, and actually helps me be better at a lot of things. (OK, so not the best writing sample in the universe).Β Here is John…

These shoes are the best I’ve ever had, because they slip right on, right off, and I can tromp through the mud in them. I am happy. This moment I am looking across the boulevard, my eyes are shielded, and you can only imagine what I see.

A river. A bridge. A beautiful woman. A slip of a slip or a slip on the water…you may never know. That is my mind. My mind alone.

I stopped waiting a long time ago. Waiting is a useless advocation for useless people. I now spend every moment, wondering, fantasizing, creating the world as I would like to see it, under the brim of my hat, flawless, every frame a perfect shot. If you would like to be in it, you just have to behave. I don’t put up with any bullshit. I’m not waiting for you to make up your mind. Not waiting. Not waiting.

I got here…I can’t tell you when or why, but I know that I’m here and that’s just where I’m supposed to be. This moment. This moment I am thinking about my shoes and what a good decision they were. These shoes.

These shoes have been my companions, maybe longer than any human in my life. They haven’t failed, at least not yet. Maybe they will someday, but that doesn’t matter. Because I’ve got them now. And this view…

Man, if you could see this view.

14 thoughts on “His name is John

  1. That’s funny because I actually barely have any notice to his shoes. Great perspective! I enjoyed your take on John. Hopefully you’ll have more time in the near future to write more often because I enjoy your work πŸ™‚

  2. This made me smile. I noticed the shoes and that they looked comfy. I like how you took them and made something simple very special. A good pair of comfy shoes do make life seem a lot better. πŸ™‚

    • Perhaps because I’ve been on my feet a lot lately I can appreciate this! But yes, indeedy, good shoes can make a good life, and sometimes that’s all you need!

Leave a Reply

