For my sister, a work in progress


You taught me how to

Dance without inhibition

And talk to boys

Or at least shout at them

From a car

So I guess that counts

You showed me how to rat my hair

And even though it hurt

I looked great

So I really couldn’t complain later

You tormented me as well

But that is the job of the big sister

At least I’m pretty sure

Yah, I’m sure

You coached me how to stand up

For what I want

And not what others want for me

You let me peer into your world

Which as a child

Was all glamour and glimmer

To me

And you held my hand

Then set me free

 

Leave a Reply

