FWF 8.2: flicks


The prompt: http://kellieelmore.com/2013/08/02/fwf-free-write-friday-word-bank-8/

FOREWORD: I realized after I wrote this that some of my comments may offend some folks. Please bear in mind this is a freewrite. I thought about editing it, but then thought,nah. This is not the way I usually speak or address issues, but then again, it is a flow of consciousness, n’est-ce pas?

The cinema is my very vicious vice. Even as I sat here, contemplating what to do with my evening, I thought, “Watch a film? Or check and see what’s on Free Write Friday…”

“Well, I’ll just sneak a peek at FWF and check the topics. Maybe I’ll write tomorrow…”

OR, just OR, maybe one of the topics will be cinema. Of course. I cannot mention the cinema without mentioning how much I miss Portland and their old-timey cinemas. I saw Breakfast at Tiffany’s for the first time at Cinema 21, and I cannot tell you the level of enchantment I experienced. I can’t believe I waited so long to see it, but then, Audrey, you see, deserved to be appreciated in the plush, velvety light blue seats which tilt back just enough to let you view the tiara and stunning long-handled cigarette in full bloom. I’m not a fan of smoking, no, but that woman sure knew how to light up.

Then there was Coffee and Cigarettes at the Laurelhurst. Man oh man how eating pizza in your seat with a pitcher of beer and friends can improve your viewing experience. Oh the movie? Yes. The best part was with Steve Coogan and Alfred Molina I think. Or was it the part with Iggy Pop? I can’t decide and I can’t describe it. You just have to see it.

Ahhhh…the CINEMA! Plush red velvet drapes, anticipation, fingers meeting in buttery popcorn. REAL movies, none of the bs-romcom/bromance crapola that’s flying around right now.

But NOW, nowadays, with ticket prices soaring and stadium seating and too many people wearing shitty perfume that you smell throughout the entire film, and the films, if you can call them that, themselves, absolute pieces of shite. Really can’t help but ponder how many mouths a particular multi-million-dollar-blockbuster would feed, and why I shelled out for a ticket just because someone talked me into a movie I know I didn’t want to see. Summer is the worst for this. Blech.

And I had to complain, but they’re always WHITE people. Now. Don’t get me wrong. I’m WHITE (mostly, that is). But I get bored seeing the same types of characters going through the same crappy motions and somehow ending up perfectly happy even though they are totally vacuous and have nothing whatsoever interesting to say. (Hey, Holly Golightly was at least a fascinating character.)

So that to be said (turned into a rant I wasn’t expecting). I LOVE the CINEMA. I LOATHE the movies. Nowadays I’m happy to curl up on my own sofa (or let’s face it, bed), and draw little mini-velvet curtains across my laptop while I munch an apple and drink some wine. Sometimes I like company, sometimes I just like to be alone, to wander into a film and get totally lost. Sometimes I dream of the cinema. The real cinema. Ahhhhh.

11 thoughts on “FWF 8.2: flicks

  1. I rarely go to the cinema either anymore (I find the sound tracks are too loud) but like you I remember the ‘good old days’ when going to the movies was a theatrical experience. Thanks for reminding me.

  2. I really don’t like going to the movies any more either: cost, loudness, insulting plots, violence, you name it. I am a huge fan of old movies having watched many when I babysat on Saturday nights. Kathryn Hepburn has always been my favorite actress!

  3. “Audrey, you see, deserved to be appreciated in the plush, velvety light blue seats which tilt back just enough to let you view the tiara and stunning long-handled cigarette in full bloom. Iā€™m not a fan of smoking, no, but that woman sure knew how to light up.”

    Oooh I love this part!!! I could picture her on that grand screen in black and white, towering above me with those eyes of hers. Love Hepburn. Great take and wonderful free write. Nice job! Thank you.

  4. I still enjoy going, I think I missed the good old days period so I can’t compare to that but it really is hard to find the good ones. Nice job with the prompt/rant šŸ™‚

  5. Ranting is cathartic and I can certainly appreciate your frustration with today’s movies. We have movie gift certificates and never go. We watch reruns of our favourites at home. šŸ˜‰ … Although we did see Star Trek when it came out earlier this year. Love that franchise. … Thanks for the great rant! Be well, Dorothy

  6. Couldn’t agree more and like Christy I’m glad you didn’t edit this. I think there are still some good films being made but you have to look outside Hollywood (independent or from other countries, for example).

  7. Lena, I agree with you…but with independent cinema and video stores all but gone…the “art” and “foreign” films are limited to what’s on Netflix, if you live remotely. (And I do). The ideas we receive are completely filtered and it’s no wonder urbanites (formerly, me) think of rural people (now, me) as being completely in the dark. Thank heaven for the magical librarians. Everywhere.

  8. Like you I prefer to experience films at home – without the added commentary of a stranger seated next to me. And if I wish I can watch those old movies, and foreign movies, in which the story is more important than the action/sex scenes.

Leave a Reply

