misshapen


He sleeps

And his form rises and falls

With my heartbeat

I try to remember when things were happier

I try to hope for better things to come

But my ears resound his angry words

And I know this song is a lonesome one

Tomorrow I will stay

Tomorrow he will go

Tomorrow there will be hope

Tomorrow we cannot know

At times his eyes still capture me

And I remember what was lost

At times the light sets me free

And I think about the cost

Of plans unmade and dreams untold

Of ever manner of life we hold

Of desperate times

Of trying to keep within

What wishes to fly

Over the dreams

Under the sky.

 

One thought on “misshapen

  1. That’s a very effective poem. It really captures that feeling of a very emotional and traumatic break up.

Leave a Reply

