the haze of dream


I was with you

Then not

Someone had taken me away

Directly from your arms

And I bawled like a child

And curled up in a ball

My large home was removed entirely

And set upon an unknown rock

On an unknown peninsula

Where there were lots of people

But none of them was you

Victorian clapboard

Bent in a fire

Someone had thrown a bomb

I watched in horror

My sister was there

She said,

“Don’t let them see us,”

And backed into an adjacent house

That housed nothing of value

Except our breath

Heavy with hurt and anguish

Filled up the room

And pressed us downward to the floor

Where we might rest and rejuvenate

To prepare for what was next

 

Leave a Reply

