hard wind


Today I am just

Watching the world go by

Yesterday I pushed by the wind

Today I listen to it sigh and moan

And learn to make my heart my home

Yesterday sand caught in my hair

Today, despite washing, it is still there

Hard wind still blows but I am inside

Waiting for the next train to ride

Today I hope and dream and create

Yesterday just waited for the wind to abate

It has been a long time since I could cry

Today just look out the window and sigh

Learning to do little have little

Is the ultimate peace

Yet this wind is restless

And I ache for it to cease

Goading and chiding

And pushing me on

For without it

I would not belong.

Leave a Reply

