afternoon tea


A honey glow

Leaked through the windowpanes

As I watched you try to balance

Your teacup near your knee

Finally you settled and rested it

On the side table

Smiling awkwardly

I think you said,

“I’ll sip it slower that way anyway.”

I nodded

Trees brushed against the pane

Bidding me outside

And I watched

Posies bob in the garden

As if dancing to a song

A wan smile

My tea I continued to sip

An excuse not to talk

The day was getting away

Finally she came back

And I smiled to excuse myself

You were her brother

And I did not know you

And I wished I could

But it made no sense

So I wandered out into the garden

And let the honey drench my soul

And danced with the posies.

One thought on “afternoon tea

Leave a Reply

