Today


Today is your birthday and I remember you. I remember your laugh, your smile, was always perfect. I hope there is a heaven, and I hope your laughter resounds through the space and your smile casts a bright glow on them all. I know that every time I am in yoga class, and I hug myself, I am hugging you, and you are hugging me.

I know that you are a beautiful, amazing and talented individual, and I am so proud you are my mother. Everyone who knows you is blessed, and we live your legacy here on this earth. I will always to my best to honor you, Mom, and make you proud still. I can still hear you say, “You go, girl,” or “Watch it, girl.”

I even remember how you said your perfect man would have but two conditions: one foot in the grave, and another on a banana peel.

I miss you, but I feel you everywhere. You have always been a part of me, and that has not gone away. It is possible I am even more like you now than before.

I love you with all my heart, and am so grateful you are my Mama.

Leave a Reply

